Pursuing doctoral studies in the UK

Bristol city’s attractions and my personal experience as a Translational Health Sciences (PhD) student at the University of Bristol

Picture by Carlos Muñoz-Neira

Hi! My name is Carlos Muñoz and I am originally from Chile, a thin and long country situated in South America, which is almost falling off from the edges of this subcontinent. I have been a postgraduate international student at the University of Bristol for almost 5 years. I completed a Master’s degree in Neuropsychology here during the academic year 2013/2014 and at the moment my doctoral studies are coming to an end (I should submit my PhD thesis by mid-September 2020). I strongly believe that this considerable period naturally puts me in a favourable position to share an informed opinion about what living and studying in the UK means, especially in Bristol. In general terms, I would like to emphasise that I have very much enjoyed this challenging experience for several reasons.

Firstly, l think living in the UK is certainly special. England has been the head of the British Empire for centuries, and I believe that one can feel that to a certain extent just being here. I would say this sensation is intensified when you visit London and walk around the Buckingham Palace (where Queen Elizabeth II lives), the House of Commons (where the most important decisions of the humanity have been made) and the Big Ben (where you must take a picture most as it is a really touristy place). Fortunately, I feel confident to say that this entire royal British experience has not made me change. I believe I am still a modest Chilean living in the UK and I suspect I will always be a simple person.

_**With my parents in London…**_
With my parents in London…

Such an intimidating situation for an Aborigine from South America contrasts with the attractions Bristol offers. For instance, the city is full of green areas and calm places to appreciate nature. A walk across The Downs or visiting an engineering master piece like the Clifton Suspension Bridge can be just inspiring. It should be noted that the city is worldwide known due to the Bristol Balloon Fiesta that takes place the first week of August yearly. All the same, there are many other highlights that make Bristol an interesting city with both a smooth personality and a vibrant lifestyle.

_**Clifton Suspension Bridge from different perspectives…**_
Clifton Suspension Bridge from different perspectives…

Aside from this, I have had the valuable opportunity of interacting with other international students from all over the world on a daily basis living in Bristol. Furthermore, I have become friends with many of them, which has been one of the most enriching experiences I have had in my life. I really believe that being part of an international community opens up your mindset and also helps you to grow as a human being. I have realised that you can get to know so much from cultures different from yours by simply interacting with people from other countries and having fun with them, which is amazing.

_**Sharing nice experiences with amazing people…**_
Sharing nice experiences with amazing people…

Last but not least, modern facilities and unique opportunities available to carry out cutting-edge research with your own hands are the foundation stones of the University of Bristol. International rankings show that Bristol Uni is a top 10 UK University with a world-class reputation in the fields of humanities, medicine, science, engineering and technology.

I would strongly recommend to come to pursue a postgraduate degree at the University of Bristol if you had the chance to do it. Please, do not hesitate to get in touch in case you wanted to hear more about my experience as postgraduate student in the UK.

All the best,

Carlos

Please, feel free to leave a comment mentioning the topic in reference 👉 on the Comments/Feedback section 👈 of this website if you would like to add anything or provide me with some constructive criticism… I will try to do my best to reply to it as soon as possible! Many thanks! 😃
Dr Carlos Muñoz-Neira

My research interests include clinical neuropsychology, cognitive neurology and dementia.